The Malaysian’s Haven: Quang Minh

425 13th Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55414

Who would have known a restaurant nestled in Dinkytown situated right across from Burrito Loco would make the Malaysian almost jump up and down at the thought of eating there?

Well, it’s true. Ever since our dear friend, Ana, introduced Tristin to Quang Minh, he looks for any chance to go back and is always delighted when out-of-towners come, like Yuri Okubo, to legitimatize another visit.

The couple who works there, reminiscent of the couple at The Kimchi and Tofu House, runs the entire operation that serves an extensive menu of Vietnamese, Chinese and… Malaysian dishes. Here the husband is the waiter while the woman solely runs the show in the kitchen. The husband is kind, warm and friendly and took the time to ask our mismatched table each of our nationalities.

Overall, the Malaysian gives this place a 4.0 out of 5 stars. He gets to solely rate this one because, “No one knows Malaysian food better than a Malaysian IMO.”- Tristin

He thinks it’s one of the best, if not the best, Malaysian restaurant in the Twin Cities. Peninsula, the entirely Malaysian restaurant located on Eat Street, may have other options but they don’t get the same taste, and it’s overpriced.

Making a guest star appearance all the way from Chicago- our crazy college friend… Yuri Okubo.

Our Japanese friend ordered the:

Curry Mee/ Laksa ~$9.00

This is a dish that is unique to Malaysia and usually made up of thin yellow egg noodles or/rice vermicelli with spicy curry (coconut milk, chili, sambal) soup.

Ms. Okubo loved all that she was able to finish of her bowl, which was about half. She certainly got her $9.00 worth as her dish was full of seafood, tofu and noodles. As an added bonus, Tristin got to eat her leftovers for lunch the next day. Tristin thought the curry mee was REALLY good and was made with just the right amount of coconut milk.

The Malaysian ordered the:

Hokkien Mee $9.50

This is a dish of thick yellow noodles braised in thick dark soy sauce with pork, squid, fish cake and cabbage as the main ingredients and cubes of pork fat fried until crispy.

Although now found on the menu all over Malaysia, and also in Malaysian restaurants around the world, it remains an extremely difficult dish to replicate. Only the ones found in the Klang Valley (KL) have the more authentic taste.

Tristin says, “It does not stand up to good ones in Malaysia but I blame that towards the lack of good ingredients that is so readily available in Malaysia whereas they are hard to find here. I ‘think’ she makes her own noodles, to which I’ll give her credit for that, otherwise the flavor was pretty spot on. But what ingredients she did have were fresh, plentiful and really tasty.”

The Minnesotan ordered the:

Mock Duck and Pork/ Shrimp Spring Rolls $4.50 (per order)

Of course I would order the spring rolls. First coming here on a bike riding day, I wanted to keep my lunch at the light lunch category. So me being as obsessed with rolled things such as sushi, fruit roll-ups and spring rolls.. I HAD to get them AGAIN. Every Vietnamese place I go, I must get these. And believe me, I have been to my fair share of Viet places in Minnesota and New York alike and I have never had such out-of-this-world spring rolls. Even though these are kinda spendy, they are totally worth it. They’re huge, have tons of ingredients in them, fresh and made to order. I would walk 7 miles for these and I know I can’t make them better at home. YUM.

Tips for Quang Minh: Dishes there should be shared among friends, everything tastes too good to not share. Go with friends and share!

Atmosphere and People: Every time I have been here there are never more than five tables being used. Usually the tables are filled with Asian students, professor looking adults or hipsters. I think I see a trend.

Notable things about the place: Big menu, cute couple, great service, best spring rolls and Malaysian food around. Sooooo notable.

Next time the Malaysian would get:

Char kuay teow

And the Minnesotan:

Who am I kidding? I’d probably cave and get the spring rolls again.

~Fun Opportunity Alert!~

Would you like to make a guest star appearance like Yuri? Tristin and I are accepting applications now! You know you want to get in on the fun.

Requirements to apply: Know of a place you think we should all go, have an open night to spare, have a desire for a fun time and a willingness to describe your experience other than “good.” Tristin has almost been kicked off the blog for this. haha. Just send Tristin or me a Facebook message and we’d LOVE to have you! Don’t miss out! You can even get a chance to meet/see Micah and Matteo! GASP! Can it get any better?

